this is us

in Hasselt, and by extension the whole Province of Limburg, the renowned flower and plant shop – thomas - is regarded as the benchmark. This flourishing business is not only well known for its impressive building – an innovative architectural structure of steel and glass – but also, and above all, for its extensive collection of plants, flowers, flower arrangements and bouquets and the stylish interior decor collections.

in 2010, thomas won the prestigious Graines D’Or Award for the most innovative garden centre concept in Europe - in recognition of the efforts that are being made every day to provide customers with a fabulous shopping experience, a principle that is being upheld with unfailing enthusiasm.

specialist shop

to the rhythm of the seasons, the thomas team play to their strengths. With ingenious selections of home, garden, kitchen and patio products that add value to life, thomas stands for lifestyle sans pareil. The most beautiful and highest quality offerings, all gathered under one roof. An open house full of atmosphere; an oasis brimming with inspiration for home & garden.


while thomas is nowadays known for its extravagantly broad range in an ultra-modern setting, the foundations date back to 1952, when François Thomas met the ravishing Josephina Arrazola de Oñate.

history  Arrazola de Oñate

Her name evokes a rare flower, and from their marriage also blossomed a love for flowers. The newlyweds opened a humble flower shop and tree nursery in Diest, but not much later they relocated a wholesale company to the Leuvensesteenweg, and they opened a flower shop in the Sint-Janberchmansstraat. However, the harsh winter of 1962 decreed otherwise and, in addition, a fierce fire also threw a spanner in the works. The couple started again, in 1967, near the Poor Clares convent on the boulevard in Hasselt. It seemed fertile ground, because in the blink of an eye, the flower and plant specialists were soon proving to have set the benchmark. Not least for their farm-fresh choice of flowers they’d buy at the early morning market in Brussels, or for their unique offer of plants delivered by Ghent growers. The shop was bursting at the seams and, as if symbolically, thomas relocated again to Kuringen, on the road between Hasselt and Diest. The brand new steel construction evidenced ambition, and was even nominated in 1997 for an architecture award for ‘steel construction’. In the meantime, their four sons had joined the family business, but then, fate struck again.

flowery phoenix

in 2002 the business burned down again. A setback that did not stifle their ambitions in the least, because in 2004 thomas rose again from the ashes, larger and grander than ever before. In addition to flowers, plants and decorations, the team resolutely went for a total experience for which a choice of interior brands was also added. thomas flourishes as never before, and remains faithful to the mission that was envisioned from the very start: an extensive and inspiring choice of high-quality home and garden items. The years of experience can be regarded as their humus, fertile soil wherein only the very best will thrive thanks to the dedicated care of the thomas team, always aiming for full customer satisfaction.

c'est nous

en matière de fleurs et de plantes, l'établissement thomas est LA référence à Hasselt, voire dans tout le Limbourg. Cet établissement florissant est bien sûr réputé pour l'imposant bâtiment qu'il occupe (une structure architecturale innovante faite de verre et d'acier), mais plus encore pour sa collection très étendue de fleurs, plantes, bouquets et compositions florales, ainsi que pour ses gracieuses collections intérieures.

en 2010, thomas a remporté les prestigieux Award Graines D’Or, qui distinguent les jardineries les plus innovantes d'Europe. Une reconnaissance des efforts fournis chaque jour pour proposer à la clientèle une expérience commerciale hors du commun. Et un principe répété avec un enthousiasme constant.

établissement spécialisé

selon les saisons, thomas et son équipe exploitent leurs divers atouts, avec une sélection savamment pensée de produits pour terrasses, cuisines, jardins et maisons, qui apportent une réelle plus-value à la vie quotidienne. thomas est synonyme de lifestyle unique. L'assortiment le plus beau et de la meilleure qualité rassemblé sous un même toit. Un établissement ouvert, chargé d'ambiance et une mine d'inspiration pour les produits d'intérieur et de jardin.

historique

aujourd'hui, thomas est réputé pour sa gamme extrêmement variée et son établissement hypermoderne. Mais les racines remontent à 1952, lorsque François Thomas rencontre la ravissante Josephina Arrazola de Oñate.

 history  Arrazola de Oñate

Son nom laisse imaginer une fleur rare, et de leur mariage germe d'ailleurs l'amour pour les fleurs. Le couple ouvre d'abord un petit commerce floral et une pépinière dans la rue Sint-Anna à Diest, avant de déménager leur activité de grossiste sur la Leuvensesteenweg et ouvrir un magasin de fleurs dans la rue Sint-Janberchmans. Mais l'hiver rigoureux de 1962 et un grave incendie ruinent leur travail. Le couple prend un nouveau départ en 1967 sur les boulevards de Hasselt, près du Couvent des Clarisses. Le terreau est fertile et bien vite leur enseigne devient une référence dans la région. Certainement pour son choix de fleurs fraîches acquises au marché matinal de Bruxelles et son assortiment unique de plantes sélectionnées auprès de cultivateurs gantois. Le fleuriste manque rapidement de place et doit déménager à nouveau vers Kuringen, sur la route reliant Hasselt à Diest, comme si c'était symbolique. La construction flambant neuve en acier révèle son ambition et est même nominée en 1997 pour un prix d'architecture des constructions métalliques. Sur l'entrefaite, les quatre fils ont embarqué dans l'affaire familiale. Hélas, celle-ci est de nouveau touchée par une calamité.

un phénix de fleurs

le bâtiment est une nouvelle fois réduit en cendres en 2002. Un revers qui ne décourage nullement les Thomas, car deux ans plus tard, leur nouvel établissement sort de terre, plus grand que jamais. Outre un magnifique assortiment de fleurs, plantes et décorations, l'équipe cherche à procurer à la clientèle une expérience totale, laissant aussi une belle place aux marques d'articles de décoration intérieure. Entreprise florissante, thomas demeure fidèle à la mission qu'il s'est assignée depuis le début : un assortiment vaste et suggestif d'articles d'intérieur et de jardin de qualité. Sa longue expérience est son terreau fertile produisant les meilleurs plans grâce aux soins dévoués de son équipe, cherchant à combler chaque client.